Mess is mine

Mess is Now Mine

I couldn’t help myself. I must have played this over and over a million times. Every time I pressed replay, I felt him burning inside. It wasn’t just his voice or the way he carried a tune– it was his soul bleeding; bloody and brute. It was the subtle hums and low strums which have woken a part of my heart I watched wither away and die long, long ago.

His laughter….the alcohol induce blushing of his cheeks. His curling toes and covert anxiousness when he misses a cord. I had hoped never to be robbed from his boyishness. I took human frailty for granted– I took him for granted. Now I sit here in this lifeless room adorned with the usual swank hotel decor. I sit here pining over sensation of his beard on my chin, with the shadow monsters swaying around me, I long for him and remembered a song he played just for me.

Vance Joy – Mess is Mine

Talking like we used to do
It was always me and you
Shaping up and shipping out
Check me in and check me out
Do you like walking in the rain?
When you think of love, do you think of pain?
You can tell me what you see
I will choose what I believe
Hold on, darling
This body is yours,
This body is yours and mine
Well hold on, my darling
This mess was yours,
Now your mess is mine
Your mess is mine
Oh, well, my Darling. My mess is now, only mine.
One last replay and I must grab a shower, sleep and pack.
P.S. Matt, no matter how irate and incredibly psychotic my episodes, I love you. You continuously illuminate my life; you are the love everyone dies for.
Leave a Reply

